All Assets
Evasion Games
66 User Reviews
Showing 1 - 10 of 66
User Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
Most Helpful
Top Rated
Please add a little bit more documentation!
13 hours ago
gerdichon version 1.1.2
You have developped a wonderful asset that is very useful and comes directely to the point. Please add more documentation that more users find the jewels that are hidden in your excellent work.
Was this review helpful?
0
0
Super easy to use (from someone who isn't a programmer)
3 months ago
OokamiJimeon previous version 1.1.1
This thing saved our lives! My team and I are animation students, and this semester we were asked to create a 3D videogame, USUALLY the school hires a programmer to be our leading teacher in the project and is also in charge of programming the game while we do all the art. This time they couldn't find one so we had to manage ourselves. With the very basic knowledge we have we've been able to do a lot, it is very intuitive and I totally recommend it!
Was this review helpful?
6
0
True life saver
3 months ago
mufabil45on previous version 1.1.1
Easy to use, i don't even need to open visual studio anymore
Was this review helpful?
0
0
Amazing Asset, especially for newcomers
3 months ago
lemonaidon previous version 1.1.1
Man, I'm stunned! Impressive how easy to use gameFlow is. Especially if you have basic programming knowledge and wants things done fast. I have been watching a very nice guy making video tutorials with it and I'm shocked. Clearly he has no idea of how unity coding does ( he has no idea what onStart and OnUpdate are to begin with) and he have managed a very fluid intricate prototype in a very short time. I have been wanting to try gameFlow and got it on the Unity Humble Bundle and I'm very glad! I would advise any newcomer to come and grab this asset. I created a third person character controller from scratch in mere minutes! The lack of tutorials and documentation is a shame really, but the asset Owner is an amazing Guy and answered me so quick I could not believe! He helped me with a unity 2018.2 bug and gave me a very good and quick workaround. Also, if You have time to see even one of the youtube videos laying around posted by another asset user ( it's in spanish, a language a know nothing about but could pick important things very fast) you'l be using it like a Pro in minutes, since it`s very easy and flows naturally. The only drawback I see when doing a larger project is that, similar to playmaker, the flow/nodes/machines are attached to objects, making a bit harder to re-use and organize a very big project, but even so I will do it!
Was this review helpful?
3
0
Very Good for prototyping
3 months ago
Bluepulsaron previous version 1.1.1
The asset is great for what it was designed for. You can build lot of common behaviours simply and fast. Many components have useful Extended Parameters, which incode are often very time consuming to write. Also the support is very responsive and answered my Questions quickly. Only Problem for Beginners may be the missing documentation, but most components are self-explanatory. I can only recommend this asset.
Was this review helpful?
1
0
It is good.
3 months ago
hancinon previous version 1.1.1
This asset is good for solely, but it is also useful for use with other visual scripts. This is especially useful for handling vfx. (Sorry. The Korean input issue was a problem with the 2018.2.6 version.)
Was this review helpful?
0
2
Reply from publisher:
replied 3 months ago
Update: No worries. Thanks for letting us know it was an issue with a concrete Unity version. --- The problem with Korean input in the editor is an Unity issue, not a GameFlow issue. You can find more information in the Unity issuetracker: Unity Issue Tracker - Unity does not support Korean input in the editor https://issuetracker.unity3d.com/issues/unity-does-not-support-korean-input-in-the-editor Unity Issue Tracker - Japanese and Korean IME are disabled when writing input in the Editor https://issuetracker.unity3d.com/issues/japanese-and-korean-ime-are-disabled-when-writing-input-in-the-editor Please notice the issue was fixed in 2018.1 according to the issuetracker. For future issues please consider opening a new issue in the GameFlow issuetracker so we can discuss it properly and give you useful information (like workarounds). You can even subscribe to any issue of your interest and get email notifications on any update: https://github.com/evasiongames/gameflow/issues Thanks!
GameFlow is very powerful - not only for beginners, but for seasoned pros too...
3 months ago
Baronmarcuson previous version 1.1
GameFlow actually is a very powerful and groundbreaking programming tool - not only for beginners, but for seasoned pros too... I have found that building a Unity game efficiently (that is NOT coding it from the ground up) requires many Unity store assets working together in one game context. GameFlow has been a powerful tool to 'bridge' the gap between assets - while avoiding messing with the original asset code as much as possible (once you have messed with any asset's code, for better or worse, asset functionality is de-standardized, and updates impossible). For example, a core asset may have a coded controller. Rather than changing the code of that asset, GameFlow has allowed me to program parallel to that asset, on a separate layer. It works and it is VERY powerful. GameFlow is intuitive/easy to program with, and more importantly, easy to visually edit (no trolling through spaghetti code). On the documentation issue - yes, an asset of this caliber calls out for better documentation than currently exists, and I know the hard working developer will get to it now that the current version is released. In the meantime though, I discovered something very interesting and useful. Because GameFlow uses the function names used in C# - you can actually get help with any GameFlow functions/procedures by looking at the standard Unity C# documentation. That blew my mind, and let me fly with GameFlow quickly. To the GameFlow creator: What you are doing here is hugely important, especially now that game programming is moving away form "from-the-ground-up coding" to integration of complete object packages. No one can afford to get into the raw code of multiple asset packages any more - so the GameFlow layer is the future of game programming. The reason you might be getting pressure on getting the documentation together is simply because the product is SO good and there are many game developers excited by its HUGE potential. To everyone else: The developer is heartfelt and dedicated, and if you want a taste of where the future of game programming is going - get this asset - GameFlow is hugely useful out-of-the-box and a very satisfying (and hugely productive) development experience.
Was this review helpful?
12
1
3 years of poor documentation
3 months ago
EvilGremlinon previous version 1.1
-UPDATE- I found a video tutorial here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v6YxTUYVZ1I&list=PLlid0mNYiB1XZvIHB8XpG6tnza70Tk_gW&index=13 It is a bit slow for an English speaker to follow along with but still recommended for those looking for something. I prefer written tutorials, but I think I can pick the concepts of the system up from this. I'll give a couple of stars back. -ORIGINAL POST- I'm going to be brutally honest. Hopefully the dev will take this critique to heart. I like this asset but I can only give it one star due to the long-promised never delivered documentation. Complete comments: I know that GameFlow is meant for beginners, but without adequate documentation I don't see how that is possible. The almost* complete lack of tutorials and documentation is truly remarkable, even among other poorly documented assets. Most of the coding components are easy to understand. But when I do have a question I can't just go find the answer in the documentation. I don't understand how you can have a visual programming asset aimed at beginners out for so long and leave the documentation and tutorials in this state. This sort of neglect is truly disrespectful to customers. For as long as I have used Unity I have been waiting for this documentation. I only acquired this asset as part of a Humble Bundle. But I've actually been waiting to buy it since 2016. I haven't because every time I look at it, there is nothing but the promise of even basic documentation. I wonder how many other people have done the same? But it's not even the lack of documentation that has earned just one star from me. It's the principle. For at least two years you have been promising us this documentation. Quit saying it's coming soon (tm). I don't believe you. I won't believe you until you prove it. And I do realize you are a lone developer. But you should have had the time to provide basic documentation sometime between now and when this asset came out in 2015. It shouldn't take three years. Please understand, I'm not trying to be a jerk. But I feel like if people don't give you a hard time, (and say "documentation" over and over again) there will never be any documentation for this asset. I hope you get the point (hint: it's documentation) and are not disheartened by my comment. I will change this review if you produce documentation. But I won't change it until you produce documentation. :P -EDIT- *Okay, I will give you that you have one page of truly helpful documentation... https://evasiongames.com/gameflow/docs/basics/ ...and 2 of 20 tutorials completed... https://evasiongames.com/gameflow/tutorials/ But in my opinion stuff like this page... "Draw Collider Draws the specified Collider." https://evasiongames.com/gameflow/docs/reference/DrawCollider ...is something that should be on a tooltip, not "documentation." That aside, I am not unsympathetic to the amount of work you have chosen to take on and offer at such a low price. I promise that if you make a serious effort to complete the documentation and/or tutorials I will change my review to the five stars I'd like to give you. In the meantime I will change my comment to reflect the poor state of documentation without exaggeration (as minor as both may be).
Was this review helpful?
9
4
Reply from publisher:
replied 3 months ago
Thanks for your honest feedback. I'm going to be brutally honest too in my reply because I think you are totally missing some things in your critique. 1) Saying "0 documentation" and "the COMPLETE lack of tutorials and documentation" is misinforming anyone reading this. Since the release of the new v1.1 I have added some basic documentation chapters, added a list of related blocks to every user guide (and they are a lot) and published 2 tutorials. All that while I was taking care of a hot fix for a last minute problem found in 2018.2... Have you really visited the official website lately? 2) Sure, no doubt that having comprehensive docs and tutorials is always good for any product. I truly understand that, but in the case of GameFlow those are not really that "critical" to get started with it. Why? because I designed this thing on purpose to be very intuitive and easy to use. That's the reason why many users (including artists with no programming skills) only need to take a look at the included examples (30 scenes) to quickly understand the basics. The rest was just a matter of experimenting a little bit, but you judged the book by the cover and you missed two years of happy GameFlowin' because of that. Not true? well, then how do you explain all the complete games that we have already in our showcase? how do you explain a pure 3d artist like Dani Moreno making GameFlow tutorials in Youtube? how do you explain more than one hundred 5-stars ratings here? 3) Yes, it is true that I have failed to deliver my promises on time several times since the launch of GameFlow and that I probably also failed in explaining publicly the reasons for those delays. I apologise for that and I can understand that you no longer trust me. Fair enough. All I can say is that sometimes the reasons behind some decisions are too personal and pitiful to be exposed in public. The ugly truth is that my determination to accomplish a major redesign in v1.0 and my refusal to abandon this project -even when I was totally broke- has caused me a lot of troubles. Real troubles with real nasty consequences in my life. So excuse me, but a 1-star rating here is not even near of "giving me a hard time" and -of course- is not helpful if your intent is motivating me. Honestly, I think these "I will give you 5 stars when you ..." strategies are childish even when they are well-intentioned like yours. I do have my own motivations to be still here, working everyday, fixing issues, developing new features, replying to support requests, publishing new updates and (when I finally have the time) trying to complete the documentation and tutorials so you can take full advantage of the product, so you can get the results you want with less effort... so you can be happier using GameFlow. Of course I want all that for you! 4) GameFlow v1.0 was released in late April this year and it was a major released including redesigning the user interface and the API completely. That means that I could not write any new docs or make any new tutorials until it was finished. That was my plan and I had declared it publicly, but then Unity release 2018.1 and I had to change the plan to make GameFlow compatible with it and include a number of mandatory fixes and improvements that I considered important for a better workflow. After a difficult summer for me, I managed to finish v1.1 on time for the Humble Bundle, so NOW at last I can go back to the original plan. It's ok if you no longer trust me, but I want to tell something for the rest of customers, those that understand the difficulties of developing a big project like this alone and constantly catching up with the new Unity versions, those who send me emails showing their appreciation and support, those who gave GameFlow an opportunity when it was just a new promising tool, those who made their gamedev dreams come true with the help of this tool: BIG THANKS and please stay tuned because you will have new docs and tutorials in the coming days and during the rest of the month of September.
It works
3 months ago
Flaveliuson previous version 1.1
It's able to do what it says if you figure out how. But there's no real documentation as of now; And be aware that it adds a (hidden) component for every condition/variable/action you include in a program, so those should ideally be short if you plan to use many of them (although the limited inspector space could be considered a limiting factor anyway).
Was this review helpful?
6
2
Reply from publisher:
replied 3 months ago
I am working hard to have more tutorials and a comprehensive documentation available as soon as possible, but please bear in mind that I am just a one-man army (for now). All the added hidden components (except the Program or Timer blocks) are disabled so they won't compromise performance at runtime. In other words they are idle and work only as data/code containers. This design allows for using the Unity built-in serialization both in GameObjects and Prefabs among other benefits. You can trust me after 6 years doing Editor scripting: I explored the alternatives (ScriptableObjects, custom serialization, etc.) and this was the best option for the purpose in my opinion. The Editor code for rendering blocks in the Inspector is also highly optimised to manage a lot of blocks per GameObject although that is not really the GameFlow philosophy. That philosophy aligns with your KISS recommendation. It encourages users to do things with the least number of blocks (programs, actions, conditions, variables, etc) possible: If you find yourself needing too many blocks in the same object that probably means that you need to organise your programs in a different way (like putting some of the actions in separate On Demand programs) or creating some custom actions with the GameFlow API. Thanks for your feedback!
No Docs
4 months ago
Hotcakeson previous version 1.0.1
Was really excited to dig into this, but the documentation is non-existant. Unless you count 'Work in Progress' which I don't.
Was this review helpful?
7
4
Reply from publisher:
replied 4 months ago
UPDATE: We have updated the documentation in the official site as promised. We are also working on new tutorials to be available pretty soon. Please feel free to contact us if you need any help. --- Author of GameFlow here. Please accept my apologies for the current lack of docs and tutorials. I know of the importance of having these available for newcomers and they are definitely in my schedule, but things are going slowly during the summer for a number of reasons. I am working now in the next v1.1 update to fix some urgent issues found in 2018.2 (so please use 2017.4 for now!) and after that I will resume the work in docs and tutorials. I hope you can see some results early in September. I would also recommend you joining our Facebook group and Discord server for contacting other GameFlow users: https://www.facebook.com/groups/gameflow/ https://discord.gg/VuR2bAB Please don't forget that you have also a lot of included examples (in the GameFlow/Examples folder) which were designed to teach you how to use the main features of GameFlow. You will learn a lot with those examples, I promise. Thanks for your feedback.
Get Asset Store news
I agree to the Unity Privacy Policy and the processing and use of your information.
Follow the Asset Store
USD
EUR
Copyright © 2018 Unity Technologies
All prices are exclusive of tax
Terms of Service and EULACookies
USD
EUR