Home
>
Tools
>
Utilities
>
Showing 1 - 10 of 185
User Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
Most Helpful
Top Rated
Love at first integration!
3 years ago
GrandMarshallon previous version 1.0.0.2
Day One Review: (first person to review this asset!) Odin - Inspector and Serializer integrates seamlessly with your projects! Immediately after importing the asset, it automagically changes the way lists are handled in the inspector to include paging, sorting, and right-click interactions without needing any extra code. Adding dictionaries and other data types that Unity cannot serialize without awkward code workarounds to the inspector, it just takes a simple using Sirenix.OdinInspector; and changing the MonoBehavior inheritance to SerializedMonoBehavior. It is handled with a smart style while still looking natural within the Unity editor! I haven't gotten to the meatier functions of Odin yet, such as controlling the layout of the items on the inspector, visual validation of values, or extendability. I will update the review to give a more detailed examination of other features as I use them. The only negative point I have so far is that the documentation is missing a lot, but the pages acknowledge that it is still being written and sections are missing. I am sure that will be updated soon, so I don't have a real problem there. Day Three Review Update: So far the biggest benefit is being able to have dictionaries visible and modifiable in the inspector to allow for faster iteration with fewer lines of code. I'm able to test in-game changes without needing to add unnecessary UI elements or sift through unorganized debug logs. All while having the in-between code closer to how I would want to structure it in the end instead of having to try to work around how Unity handles the data structure.
Was this review helpful?
28
0
So much more than it advertises
a year ago
5argonon previous version 1.0.6.7
At first from their website, I think this is only some kind of prettifier for the Inspector. Just make them looks better, and maybe just more usable than the stock Unity ones. I was severely wrong. Odin does not just make the Inspector looks good, Odin provides a toolbox so that you could build ANYTHING. Odin has a very under-advertised feature that is you could build a custom standalone editor window (yes, not Inspector) very very easily. Combined with drawing code Odin used to draw the Inspector plus using a layout preset system of Unity, suddenly it is like I am building my own game engine, everything according to my liking, on top of Unity. It really felt that way. The ability to turn ScriptableObject asset file into a whole new editor window is very smart. You can build a beautiful custom editor which automatically save its own value to that file, because actually the whole window is just a drawer of ScriptableObject. Previously I am not seeing much use for ScriptableObject and just use my own binary file, but now they are everywhere because Odin had open a new way to use them. ScriptableObjects are now freed from small Inspector window. Previously when declaring serialized/public variable you have to think at the same time how that would look in the Inspector. Not anymore, Odin can rearrange, interpret, present them freely. The data and the presentation are separated with the help of attributes that let you show/hide/or show a completely different value. And with a string attribute to reflect any fields or even invoke a method to get a value to draw your UI, the Inspector is now like blank canvas where you could draw anything from any data. The drawing toolbox you get is very modular. Before long, you will start mix and match, layer this on to that by using just C# attributes like playing with a lego blocks. And they are not just "this-attrribute-draw-this" but they can work together. This is not something that is simple to implement correctly especially referencing each other or grouping with correct layout under all circumstances. I blame them for making such a misleading website. I actually know about Odin for quite a long time before the purchase, but if I knew Odin could do these things earlier I would have much more time to make the game!
Was this review helpful?
13
0
Works as expected
3 years ago
JohnRossitteron previous version 1.0.0.2
I have been watching this tool in beta for a while and been very excited to purchase it. Today was the day and I was not disappointed in the least. It works out of the box, my inspectors look nicer just by having Odin installed. While the documentation is still in development, I was able to get it up and running in minutes with little or no trouble. Totally excited to get this into our working pipeline.
Was this review helpful?
13
1
Perfect
3 years ago
R-win93on previous version 1.0.0.2
This plugin does exactly what it says. It's ready to use, there couldn't be easier way to integrate it and adds great features. The documentation is also well made (though is still a work in progress) and helps a lot learning about all the features it offers. This will be a standard for all my projects, as this makes easy to all team members to better recognize, understand and make use of the Inspector. Inspector is a great feature and so are attributes, this plugin unlocks such features' full potential!
Was this review helpful?
11
1
A massive enabler.
9 months ago
DgoodingIndion previous version 2.0.13
Been using Odin for about 10 months now. It makes tool creation so fast, and easy. For me the biggest things i've used it for has been setting up complex databases directly in the inspector, And rapid prototyping by quickly making inspector buttons. i've probably already saved over a month of time. Made my own versions of a couple different asset store scripting assets that I no longer have to worry about updates, and have complete control of. if I was in a team this asset would probably make me want to be the tools programmer. Being a solo dev, Odin has pretty much been such a massive help, and I couldn't have gotten this far in such a short time without it. Many thanks.
Was this review helpful?
8
0
Super useful, super easy
10 months ago
boysenberryon previous version 2.0.14
This is one of those tools that are super easy to use and automagically useful right off the bat. I have barely scratched the surface, let alone jumped down the rabbit hole of all this tool has to offer, but the little I have used is now indispensable. Just installing it makes it worth the price. Use more than it's defacto sugar and you'll find this incredibly under priced; something for every member of a team for sure!
Was this review helpful?
7
0
Amazing support!
2 years ago
TimothyGranton previous version 1.0.4.0
Me: "Does Odin do X?" Odin Dev: "Not yet, but X is planned." Me: "Darn" Odin Dev: "What are you trying to accomplish?" Me: "I'm hoping to put this X in the inspector" Odin Dev: "Give me a few minutes." That's extraordinary support for a young but very capable tool. More impressive, it was before the sale support with no guarantee it would translate into a sale. As a hobbyist, I will likely never use a large percentage of Odin's capabilities, but the one feature, implemented because I asked, will be worth the price of admission.
Was this review helpful?
7
0
I'm speechless
2 years ago
MrIconicon previous version 1.0.3.0
One of the three demo scenes showed a near infinite amount of possibilities. That scene was so well organized in the hierarchy and in the inspector window. Seriously a masterpiece of an asset. Out of disbelief I looked at the code. Reviewed Odin because I'm still blown away by it's perfection and it'll be a while until I land. 5/5
Was this review helpful?
7
0
Hands down a must.
2 months ago
Sanctus2099on previous version 2.1.4
This is one of the best packages for Unity. It's so well made it's as if it was made by the Unity team on steroids. I never start a project without nowadays. Could it be better? Sure, anything could but the current level of the product is top notch. Advice to Unity team: buy these guys out and make this the default functionality. It would be a massive step up in terms of usability.
Was this review helpful?
6
0
master piece
3 years ago
zsydeepskyon previous version 1.0.0.3
obviously, the creator of this asset has a deep understanding of unity workflow, therefore Odin becomes such a powerful tool for making the quick custom editor. I wanted to make a unity-stylized framework/workflow for a very long time, but the flaw of the native inspector is a huge obstacle for me. it lacks supports for core features of C# such as interface, dictionary, delegates...but with Odin, those troubles are all gone. I got tons of customized editor almost with a finger snap, and it truly exceeded my expectation almost in every possible way. it's a pleasure for me to give the author a 5 star, it's really a delightful experience, I appreciate it sincierly. And yes, I'll recommend it to anyone who wants to use unity efficiently or even elegantly, this is definitely the tool you gonna need.
Was this review helpful?
6
0
Partners Program
Partners
Get Asset Store news
I agree to the Unity Privacy Policy and the processing and use of your information.
Follow the Asset Store
Revert to Old Store
USD
EUR
Copyright © 2019 Unity Technologies
All prices are exclusive of tax
Terms of Service and EULACookies
Revert to Old Store
USD
EUR