Unity Asset Store
Cart
Applications
Cancel

Over 11,000 five-star assets

Rated by 85,000+ customers

Supported by 100,000+ forum members

Home
Tools
Utilities
Showing 1 - 10 of 314
User Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
Most Helpful
Top Rated
G
Love at first integration!
4 years ago
GrandMarshallon previous version 1.0.0.2
Day One Review: (first person to review this asset!) Odin - Inspector and Serializer integrates seamlessly with your projects! Immediately after importing the asset, it automagically changes the way lists are handled in the inspector to include paging, sorting, and right-click interactions without needing any extra code. Adding dictionaries and other data types that Unity cannot serialize without awkward code workarounds to the inspector, it just takes a simple using Sirenix.OdinInspector; and changing the MonoBehavior inheritance to SerializedMonoBehavior. It is handled with a smart style while still looking natural within the Unity editor! I haven't gotten to the meatier functions of Odin yet, such as controlling the layout of the items on the inspector, visual validation of values, or extendability. I will update the review to give a more detailed examination of other features as I use them. The only negative point I have so far is that the documentation is missing a lot, but the pages acknowledge that it is still being written and sections are missing. I am sure that will be updated soon, so I don't have a real problem there. Day Three Review Update: So far the biggest benefit is being able to have dictionaries visible and modifiable in the inspector to allow for faster iteration with fewer lines of code. I'm able to test in-game changes without needing to add unnecessary UI elements or sift through unorganized debug logs. All while having the in-between code closer to how I would want to structure it in the end instead of having to try to work around how Unity handles the data structure.
Was this review helpful?
28
0
D
Love the asset but
8 months ago
DarkenedShadeon previous version 3.0.3
The new popup to that keeps trying to get you to accept the eulas is annoying, also I paid for the asset before the eula changes. Seems like a cashgrab for more money because of the popularity of their asset. I used to recommend this asset to everyone before but now I'd encourage people to look for free alternatives
Was this review helpful?
20
3
Great
9 months ago
vampir26on previous version 3.0.3
Great tool and I use it in every project. Edit new update: They bother you with popups and you must accept eulas. I don't accept such workflow breaks. -2 stars.
Was this review helpful?
19
2
t
READ THE FINE PRINT
a year ago
tcz8on previous version 3.0.3
UPDATE: Still awesome and still WAY too expansive if you make more than 200k. They want 250$ per SEAT/YEAR. In comparison, Unity Plus is 399$ / year for the whole thing. This, is just an add-on. Very useful and totally recommend for small teams but the moment you make a game that sells and want to grow your company you will have to pay 250$ USD PER UNITY USER PER YEAR and IMHO that is way too much for what it is. So think carefully because It's very easy to start implementing it everywhere and once you do that you will be stuck with it like a 20-year-old AOL email address. Deserves 5 stars but the licensing dogs ate one.
Was this review helpful?
18
1
V
Terrible product
3 months ago
Vanzigon previous version 3.0.5
Spams a popup ad every time you open it demanding that you'll pay them royalties if you make over 200k. When I purchased this in 2020 that was not listed at all. The unity editor does not provide a version of this without the popup ads and the terrible contract demands. If sirenix wasn't a bad company, if they wanted to sell a special enterprise version, the right move was to release OdinEnterprise as a separate product and not treat existing customers so poorly.
Was this review helpful?
18
5
Reply from publisher:
replied 3 months ago
We're sorry that you've had a negative experience with Odin. We do wish to clarify that we don't demand royalties, nor will we ever do so. The terms of our license are fairly simple: if you or the company you work for makes more than $200.000 USD a year, then you cannot use the Personal license but must buy the Enterprise license instead. The pricing of Enterprise is a flat fee, and there are no royalties involved. This is a fairly common approach when licensing software. We have modeled our license off of examples like ReSharper and Unity, and chosen to use the exact same licensing approach and revenue limits as Unity itself has, to make everything consistent and easy to understand for our customers. We have done our best to make our model as fair to our customers as possible. On our website, we still offer older versions of Odin for download, and for old customers who bought Odin before Enterprise was introduced, the pre-3.0 EULA still applies for versions 2.1.13 and down. If you wish to do so, you can revert to 2.1.13 and continue using Odin perpetually without any worries. It's an unfortunate truth that without something like the Enterprise model to sustain it, Odin as a product would eventually have to cease to exist. With Enterprise, we can continue to sustainably provide an excellent, well-maintained and constantly improving product to the community far into the future. We hope this has clarified some of the misunderstandings you seem to have had :) Regards, The Sirenix team
So much more than it advertises
3 years ago
5argonon previous version 1.0.6.7
At first from their website, I think this is only some kind of prettifier for the Inspector. Just make them looks better, and maybe just more usable than the stock Unity ones. I was severely wrong. Odin does not just make the Inspector looks good, Odin provides a toolbox so that you could build ANYTHING. Odin has a very under-advertised feature that is you could build a custom standalone editor window (yes, not Inspector) very very easily. Combined with drawing code Odin used to draw the Inspector plus using a layout preset system of Unity, suddenly it is like I am building my own game engine, everything according to my liking, on top of Unity. It really felt that way. The ability to turn ScriptableObject asset file into a whole new editor window is very smart. You can build a beautiful custom editor which automatically save its own value to that file, because actually the whole window is just a drawer of ScriptableObject. Previously I am not seeing much use for ScriptableObject and just use my own binary file, but now they are everywhere because Odin had open a new way to use them. ScriptableObjects are now freed from small Inspector window. Previously when declaring serialized/public variable you have to think at the same time how that would look in the Inspector. Not anymore, Odin can rearrange, interpret, present them freely. The data and the presentation are separated with the help of attributes that let you show/hide/or show a completely different value. And with a string attribute to reflect any fields or even invoke a method to get a value to draw your UI, the Inspector is now like blank canvas where you could draw anything from any data. The drawing toolbox you get is very modular. Before long, you will start mix and match, layer this on to that by using just C# attributes like playing with a lego blocks. And they are not just "this-attrribute-draw-this" but they can work together. This is not something that is simple to implement correctly especially referencing each other or grouping with correct layout under all circumstances. I blame them for making such a misleading website. I actually know about Odin for quite a long time before the purchase, but if I knew Odin could do these things earlier I would have much more time to make the game!
Was this review helpful?
13
0
Works as expected
4 years ago
JohnRossitteron previous version 1.0.0.2
I have been watching this tool in beta for a while and been very excited to purchase it. Today was the day and I was not disappointed in the least. It works out of the box, my inspectors look nicer just by having Odin installed. While the documentation is still in development, I was able to get it up and running in minutes with little or no trouble. Totally excited to get this into our working pipeline.
Was this review helpful?
13
1
R
Perfect
4 years ago
Rwin93on previous version 1.0.0.2
This plugin does exactly what it says. It's ready to use, there couldn't be easier way to integrate it and adds great features. The documentation is also well made (though is still a work in progress) and helps a lot learning about all the features it offers. This will be a standard for all my projects, as this makes easy to all team members to better recognize, understand and make use of the Inspector. Inspector is a great feature and so are attributes, this plugin unlocks such features' full potential!
Was this review helpful?
11
1
M
100% useless due to license model. Hands off!
a month ago
MightyAnubison version 3.0.9
The asset "sold" here, is "only" a Personal License, for up to a maximum of $200,000 per year. If your project or its revenue exceeds that, "Odin Inspector" or "Sirenix" wants in an extra license! the positive: they show it on the provider side in the assetstore! The negative: if I offer an asset, I as a "freelancer" or "company" have my part of the work already - sold - before someone else does the work, from which HE has to live. This is an absolute "no go". i e.g. do not use - any - subscription or "annual software" to be licensed. I build on Blender, Gimp, possibly Armorpaint and other software of this kind. The only thing where I see it to pay a "subsequent license", *IS UNITY* because after a project has actually reached this revenue limit, UNITY! the - ORIGINAL ENABLISHER - of my work, is also entitled to such a license. here however, it concerns a software product, which you pay in the apron, which wants to "deduct money" afterwards then once again. About the software itself, I can, need and will immediately - nothing - say. It does not interest what the thing can do. No matter whether it irons, washes dishes or vacuums - that *is not interesting! You have chosen to offer an asset here in the Unity Assetstore. From its sale, you have probably - HORRENTE ! - income! Overall, however, much of this is based on further development of features originally available in Unity, and the addition of these. So your asset is actually based on Unity. At the same time you sell this! If you already do that *THEN BE SO FAIR, AND DON'T CUT OFF INDI STUDIOS* when they reach a revenue threshold! Licenses like this can really "eat bread". Meaning. If you get over 200 000 in a year, and your game is actually on sale for say 10 years in the store you trust, you have - this vendor - all the time in your hand luggage, who wants extra license fees - for every sale, or every year -. You have to pay them! the "dream of your own game" is to be evaluated as critical on a market like this for a very long time! To bring a game, which - really - has real success, it needs more than just work. Also luck and a lot of promotion! Also the knowledge you have acquired. If you then think about who all already benefits from it, for sales, for tax, for other charges, the question remains: Is it worth it? Can it. Do you then want to have licenses in your hand luggage - *Like THIS? no! Quite clearly no! I have long thought in the past, whether I need Odin Inspektor at all, or buy. At that time I saw the "asset" still as a normal Unity asset, like others here. Not that it causes additional licenses! I have now Odin only as "Nebengymmik" in the Humble Bumble Sale with had. Now I thought to myself. "well, make a new project, and look at what it does first". In doing so, I immediately came across the "big announced" we want more money license. My opinion: 1st - I do not care what the program / asset does, it is - absolutely 100% useless! If my game ever has some success, I certainly do not pay you with a job, because many who paid the full price here, have already done so! Other providers show - DEUTHLY - that there are also fair ways! 2nd - nope, not even the Humble Bumble Sale was worth it! I do not conclude any subscriptions with you! 100% 1 star. If there were 0 stars, I would give you 0 stars! For everyone else : Look around, there are countless nice, useful and good editor tools, with fair licenses. this one is : a NO GO! @ Dev ( private here just ) no need to awnser this! You will not change my Mind! Stay fair! and not like this! [EDIT] For all that read here: IT IS IMPORTANT TO STAND AGAINST MODELS LIKE THIS! Why ? Because: if this is "liked" and you "see it not so hard" than every Asset Dev will do things like this! Do you really want to pay 2 times for everything? Really want to Work Years, to pay only the Bills of other Peaple, what want "EULAS" to let you Pay and Pay and Pay ? Stay again! Say - no - it is absolutly easy! 2 good Hints (Review before) are here for Github. Give it a try. There fair Models, you do not need to be scammed! THINK ABOUT ONE: You an Indi? Your Game will on Sale for lets say 20 or 30 $ not more. This here, is an Asset. You pay a +AAA FULL PRICE GAME AMOUNT to get it ! And after this, you forced to pay more and more and more and more ... ( and more ) Eaven if your Team have 4 Workers, they want 1000$ from you @ YEAR! Every Year you sell your game! if your Game sells good the first 2 Months, and you have ~ 10 000 income (after all what you have to pay around )they want 1000 from: do not support this! this is robbing off! Watch around how often they sell this. Just you Pay @ unity, this is okay, because the Engine so your Basis - WAS FOR FREE ! if you get an Amount of money, it s just the right Way to licence it , if you do! You can give to Blender or others, this is your Discision. but you have to Pay: - the Assets you use, - The Artists you help, - the Engine of Unity. The TAX of your Country (here is ~ 50 % of income ). up to 30% of the Store System you use (for example Steam ). And all you pay, before you release your work! and they here, want to sell you a FULL PRICE asset, and after this, they want more money ? Try not to lol! ... there is no reason, to change the Eula! Globaly: Fight Against Subscribing Software! Or all your Work is for nothing, your Dream is for nothing, just all what want to give you "Licences" will have income - you not! Stop it - here - @Dev @ last: Stop to be whiny or cry about this here! Because: Watch Blender, Gimp, Paint dot Net, this are all FOR FREE! You want 50$ just for the Asset, and after this you want more! See what this Open Source Software can do. Think about the hard Work of all Peaple, support and develop this! You get 50 $ for this here. other give it away for free, and only live from them, peaple give to them. THINK ABOUT THIS! @Dev also just to wake you up: you wrote: "Even at a very low wage of $25/hour, " a Friend of mine have released his game! He work 2 Years for. His Income is 0.25$ / Hour. ... just to hit you back to Reality!
Was this review helpful?
14
6
A massive enabler.
3 years ago
DgoodingIndion previous version 2.0.13
Been using Odin for about 10 months now. It makes tool creation so fast, and easy. For me the biggest things i've used it for has been setting up complex databases directly in the inspector, And rapid prototyping by quickly making inspector buttons. i've probably already saved over a month of time. Made my own versions of a couple different asset store scripting assets that I no longer have to worry about updates, and have complete control of. if I was in a team this asset would probably make me want to be the tools programmer. Being a solo dev, Odin has pretty much been such a massive help, and I couldn't have gotten this far in such a short time without it. Many thanks.
Was this review helpful?
8
0
Quality assets
Over 11,000 five-star assets
Trusted
Rated by 85,000+ customers
Community support
Supported by 100,000+ forum members
Unity
Follow the Asset Store
USD
EUR
Copyright © 2021 Unity Technologies
All prices are exclusive of tax
Terms of Service and EULACookiesSite MapDo Not Sell My Personal Information
USD
EUR