Assets
Tools
Services
By Unity
Industries
Cart
Applications
Cancel

Over 11,000 5 star assets

Rated by 85,000+ customers

Supported by 100,000+ forum members

Home
Tools
Game Toolkits
Elringus
(not enough ratings)
36 User Reviews
$150
Showing 1 - 10 of 36
User Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
Most Helpful
Top Rated
b
Unity + Naninovel = World's most powerful visual novel engine
18 days ago
bmcarbaughon version 1.14
I'm a writer/designer with 4 years of experience writing commercial visual novels in the mobile games industry. I've used a ton of writing workflows and scripting languages ostensibly designed to get interactive words from brain, to script, to game as quickly as possible. I've also experimented with pretty much any bespoke visual novel creation software you can think of, from Renpy to Tyrano Builder to highly specialized in-house studio stuff. In my opinion, Unity+Naninovel blows them all out of the water. By a lot. It's not even close. While Unity has a nontrivial learning curve--and Naninovel likewise takes some getting used to--once you've got your arms around it? Hoo boy. I have literally NEVER used a tool that lets you iterate branching visual narrative content this quickly. I can do things with this engine, on my own, that I used to have to send emails to accomplish. Things I love: - Like Ink, Naninovel smartly handles 99% of its program flow via written text in a script file, rather than making you click around a dumb node-based editor. This should be considered "best practices" for any game writing workflow, as far as I'm concerned. It's just so much faster. - The dynamic live-preview that rolls back the gamestate every time you save an update to the script is just insanely cool. Hard to overstate what a cumulative time-saver that is. - Pretty solid documentation, with lots of example scripts, demos, videos, and shiny gifs. (Some of the more exotic API commands could use more examples, but most of the core stuff is fairly well covered.) Things to be aware of: - Yeah, it's got a custom scripting language you'll need to learn. Kind of unavoidable with this approach. - While pretty versatile (just by virtue of how robust it is), Naninovel is, by design, *primarily* focused on being an end-to-end solution for visual novels -- and it fires up at runtime, rather than handling stuff in the editor. You can get under the hood and play with it if you know C#, and it's got support for a couple big state machine plugins like Playmaker, but in general: if you need more of a middleware thing that integrates with a lot of other systems, this might not be the best fit. (That said, I suspect a studio with a dedicated C# coder could probably hack it to do anything they needed. It seems pretty extensible and user-friendly in that regard.) Overall: great plug-in, well worth the money, does exactly what it says on the tin. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful?
5
1
k
Best visual novel asset
a month ago
keinarton version 1.14
If you are looking for a VN asset, this one is the current best. You probably have seen my review also in Utage, and Utage is great of course, but Naninovel has managed to make a better and more effective system in a really short time, and the developer is very quick to update and add new functionalities. The way it allows to quick edit on the go will save you ton of time, and the possibilities to localize text and export and import is incredible. Very clean and lightweight. It's worth the money, no doubt. Better than Renpy and any other.
Was this review helpful?
1
0
C
Just a quick one from a Hobbyist
a month ago
Ciboxon version 1.14
Beating myself up for not getting this earlier, the price is prohibitive but you'll save so much more time with the workflow in this thing. And with the comprehensive support/documentation you can tell this asset isn't going to be deprecated anytime soon. It is a bit more intimidating to mess around with the code then lesser engines but the trade off is well worth it. Not your ordinary cash grab asset.
Was this review helpful?
1
0
r
The Best Visual Novel Engine Ever!
3 months ago
restush96on previous version 1.12
So after we left the beta program, I need to make a review for this time. I have the first impression in the past about Renpy, Thyranobuilder, and Visual Novel Maker. They are good for starting the Visual Novel journey. But they have cons for developer. Cons of; Renpy - It is all about programming not writing a story. Thyranobuilder - Somehow in the past, it always crashes that I need to write my story again. Visual Novel Maker - So many bugs. Besides the cons of them, Naninovel fixed that cons and made it to fully functional Visual Novel Engine ever! There is no software that can match full-featured Naninovel + Unity. Pros of Naninovel - Full detailed manual and tutorial made by the developer - The developer will help answer your problem in Naninovel case - Growing community on discord - Using Unity Engine (that always update every year) - Integration with 3D Game - C# > Python - Await/Async > Coroutine - It is so easy to make a fast story choice game - Can integrate with IAP - Export to any platform - Unity Asset where you can add some tweaks Cons of Naninovel - Expensive for a starter but it is really worth it for investment. If you have a super big patient, wait for sale. - Slow response but the developer will always be there to answer you. In case you don't know, Naninovel is developed by one man. Last Note There is a one-star review that they said Naninovel is difficult to integrate. I prove them wrong. Here is the video about integration Naninovel + Survival Engine https://youtu.be/Mo5fjGaJHEs. I have no background in programming but I can make it works. If you are like me who don't have any programming skill, I recommend Naninovel.
Was this review helpful?
5
0
Great Tool
4 months ago
IdrilKaleanon previous version 1.12
Just a great tool for make novel or a "story/dialogue" in your game. [edit] thanks for the reply. the bug : -> Assets/Naninovel/Runtime/UI/TextPrinter/RevealableTMProText.cs(198,17): error CS0103: The name 'm_layoutAlreadyDirty' does not exist in the current context" <- it's a bug always here (for me) because the package manager or old asset manager not proposed to update the last asset version, so yes... i'm always in 1.10. :-/ -Resolved- : go to repertory (in HDD) and search/delete the asset (in unity, not in project) and after download the last version. TY for support, all work great now. [review OLD 1] Bug with 2019.4.10.f1 and 2020.1.6.f1 (fresh install, last version naninovel): Assets/Naninovel/Runtime/UI/TextPrinter/RevealableTMProText.cs(198,17): error CS0103: The name 'm_layoutAlreadyDirty' does not exist in the current context (waiting a update: 2020.X : just remove TMPpro with package manager for the moment 2019.x : use TPMPro 2.1.0 change with package manager for the moment ;))
Was this review helpful?
0
0
Reply from publisher:
replied 4 months ago
Hey, Thanks for the review! The issue you've mentioned was fixed in Naninovel v1.12. Judging by the review, you're using v1.10. Try opening the asset store window and checking for updates. If you have any further questions, please contact the support: https://naninovel.com/support/#developer-support
P
Probably the best VN engine on the planet
6 months ago
PanthenEyeon previous version 1.10
I've been working with Naninovel for about 6 months now, and mostly it's been a joy. We're working on a hybrid card/visual novel game where Naninovel is used for VN sections. Client wanted a system where they could freely add content without programming (ie my input). And Naninovel delivers on that in spades. I also had to integrate Naninovel within existing systems, which was also a breeze thanks to bountiful documentation available for all aspects of the asset. Be warned though, Naninovel is practically an engine within an engine and it wants to do many things its own specific way. So if you're using Naninovel as a drop-in dialogue system rather than VN engine, you must implement some parts of the game the Naninovel way. But the benefits definitely outweigh the downsides. Most of my issues with the asset stemmed from Naninovel still being in beta. Releases often introduced breaking changes. But the store page warned about that, so we were well aware. Now that Naninovel is stable, there's no cause for concern in that regard. Naninovel is likely the best VN engine on the planet. It's basically Ren'py with even more accessible syntax and the power of Unity behind it - advanced VFX, support for all kinds of animation tools from Spine to Live2D, export to any platform under the sun, etc.
Was this review helpful?
2
0
k
best VN framework for developers
7 months ago
kennethwang14on previous version 1.10
amazing
Was this review helpful?
0
0
u
Great asset with excellent support
8 months ago
unity_eTGLIsisfOJujQon previous version 1.9.1-beta
Wonderful VN asset, with great support by the creator.
Was this review helpful?
2
0
d
Wonderful tool to use!
9 months ago
dmcvocationon previous version 1.8.0-beta
I find Naninovel very useful for different kinds of multimedia projects. It has the right combination of tools I need: cohesive framework; comprehensive API; good scripting support; integration with Unity. Here's wishing this project long life and lots of success!
Was this review helpful?
2
0
m
Great asset by a great developer!
9 months ago
mocha_frappeon previous version 1.9.6-beta
When it comes to Visual Novel engines on Unity, Naninovel is the clear best. Its thorough documentation makes it easy to understand and implement while still being incredibly versatile, enough to integrate into any project. I made a mistake and didn't pay attention to the minimum version of Unity required when purchasing the asset. I reached out to the developers with my dilemma and they responded within only a few minutes with a solution! The asset itself is top notch, the documentation is clear and thorough, and the developer support is fantastic. Easily a five star product!
Was this review helpful?
4
0
Quality assets
Over 11,000 5 star assets
Trusted
Rated by 85,000+ customers
Community support
Supported by 100,000+ forum members
Get Asset Store news
I agree to the Unity Privacy Policy and the processing and use of your information.
Follow the Asset Store
USD
EUR
Copyright © 2021 Unity Technologies
All prices are exclusive of tax
Terms of Service and EULACookiesDo Not Sell My Personal Information
USD
EUR